IMU Committee for Women in Mathematics


The Executive Committee  of the International Mathematical Union decided to establish a committee on women and mathematics of the IMU. The name of the committee is  Committee for Women in Mathematics (CWM).

Terms of Reference of CWM

-To promote international contacts between national and regional organizations for women in mathematical sciences;
- To maintain up-‐to-‐date content on the Women in Mathematics part of the IMU website and, with appropriate assistance from the IMU, to ensure its technical development;
-To consider how best to facilitate electronic communications among the community of women mathematicians internationally;
-To work with groups, committees and commissions of IMU on topics pertaining to women mathematicians and their representation;
- To publicise, and where needed to suggest, working practices that ensure equal opportunities for women mathematicians in universities and research institutions, for example appropriate funding arrangements, family friendly policies and facilities;
- To report annually to the IMU Executive Committee, and to the IMU General Assembly,  and to propose actions that would foster equal treatment of women in the mathematical community and lead to an increase in the representation of women in mathematics at all levels.

Members of the CWM are appointed four years coinciding with the EC terms, and membership should be widely distributed geographically. The CWM has a chair and a vice-chair and 6-8 members-at-large. One of the CWM members is responsible for the CWM website and electronic communication. The IMU-EC appoints an EC-CWM liaison (observer), who should be present at all committee meetings. The CWM should meet at least once a year, preferably by videoconference.

Membership of CWM for the period 2015-2018
Chair: Marie-Françoise Roy (France)
Vice-chair and responsibility for the website : Caroline Series (England)

Members at large
            Carolina Araujo (Brazil)
            Bill Barton (New Zealand)
            Ari Laptev (Sweden/UK)
            Kristin Lauter (USA)
            Sunsook Noh (Korea)
            Marie Françoise Ouedraogo (Burkina Faso)
            Sujatha Ramdorai (India)
            Betul Tanbay (Turkey)
IMU-EC liaison (observer) : John Toland